Los Angeles Philharmonic

Gustavo Dudamel, Music & Artistic Director & Yuja Wang, piano soloist
Symphony Hall

The mighty LA Phil, the visionary Gustavo Dudamel, and the dazzling pianist Yuja Wang – a frequent, fruitful collaborator with the orchestra – come together for an afternoon of exhilarating music making, featuring the Boston premiere of John Adams’ 2019 piano concerto Must the Devil Have All the Good Tunes?


Alberto GinasteraVariaciones Concertantes

John AdamsMust the Devil Have All the Good Tunes? (Boston premiere)

Igor StravinskyThe Rite of Spring

Listen to the LA Phil perform the Ginastera and Stravinsky on Spotify >>

Additional Artist Websites

“What defines the Los Angeles Philharmonic? Is it the music and artistic director Gustavo Dudamel’s exciting performances of symphonies central to the repertory? Or is it the risks the orchestra takes on rarities and new pieces…The fact that the answer is, truly, “both” is a testament to the Philharmonic’s excellence on more fronts than almost any other ensemble.”

The New York Times

“In all seriousness: What can’t Yuja Wang do? This star pianist has built her reputation on breathtaking mastery of the standard repertory, like the chamber works she played last Wednesday with the violinist Leonidas Kavakos at Carnegie Hall. Or Robert Schumann’s Piano Concerto, which she’ll do with the Boston Symphony Orchestra later this week. But in between those two dates, she stopped by Carnegie’s Zankel Hall on Monday for something …”

The New York Times

This performance is sponsored by

Arts Society Members ($500) and above are invited to join us for complimentary refreshments pre-show and during intermission at this performance. Learn more about our Member Events.

Symphony Hall

301 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston

Related Events