Digital Concert:  Aizuri Quartet

Virtual Concert

Available for on demand viewing from Friday May 5, 2023 at 8pm until Thursday May 11, 2023 at 7:00 PM ET.

Described by the Washington Post as “astounding” and “captivating” for their performances with a notable “meld of intellect, technique, and emotions,” the Aizuri Quartet has established a unique niche within today’s musical landscape, infusing all their music-making with infectious energy, joy, and warmth, and cultivating curiosity in listeners.  

The all-female string quartet has drawn praise both for bringing “a technical bravado and emotional power” to bold new commissions and for its “flawless” (San Diego Union-Tribune) performances of the great works of the past. Their innovative programming and the depth and fire of their performances have earned the quartet a Grand Prize at the 2018 M-Prize Chamber Arts Competition, along with top prizes at the 2017 Osaka International Chamber Music Competition in Japan, the 2015 Wigmore Hall International String Quartet Competition in London and, most notably, a 2019 Grammy nomination for their debut album Blueprinting, named one of NPR Music’s Best Classical Albums of 2018.  

The Quartet, which draws its name from “aizuri-e,” a style of predominantly blue Japanese woodblock printing noted for its vibrancy and incredible detail, blends their four distinctive musical personalities into a powerful show-stopping performance. 

The programcreated to trace a journey from darkness to dawnbegins with Clara Schumann’s “Ich stand in dunklen Traumen” ("I stood in dark dreams"), followed by Bartok’s Quartet No. 4 and "Sivunittinni” by the Canadian Inuit composer and throat singer Tanya Tagaq, before concluding with Haydn’s “Sunrise” Quartet.  

Program Details





“Elegant, inquisitive”

New Yorker

The 2022/23 Debut Series is generously sponsored by Harriet & David Griesinger and the Longy School of Music of Bard College.

This performance is made possible in part by support from Celebrity Series' LIVE PERFORMANCE! Arts for All Innovation Funds.