Patricia Kopatchinskaja, violin & Jay Campbell, cello

Longy's Pickman Hall

Born into a Moldavian family of popular folk musicians and later a student of violin and composition in Vienna and Bern, Patricia Kopatchinskaja performs a truly wide range of music. Dubbed as the wild child of the violin, “Pat Kop” is known as much for the passion and virtuosity of her playing as for her idiosyncratic trademark of playing barefoot. Now a megawatt star in high demand in Europe, Kopatchinskaja will be joined by her frequent collaborator Jay Campbell in a diverse duo program for her Boston recital debut. Praised by The New York Times for his “electrifying performances” which “conveyed every nuance,” Campbell has already forged a reputation as a spellbinding artist. The energy and intensity of these dynamic artists promise a truly memorable performance!

Program will feature works by Ravel, Kodaly, Widmann, Xenakis, Ligeti, and more.

“[Patricia Kopatchinskaja is] the most exciting violinist in the world…””

The Strad

“It is hard to characterize Campbell’s sound at the instrument, since it seems so perfectly tailored to each piece he plays.”

The Washington Post

The 2019-20 Debut Series is sponsored by


This performance is made possible in part by support from Celebrity Series LIVE PERFORMANCE! Arts for All Innovation Funds.

Arts Society Members ($500) and above are invited to join us for complimentary refreshments pre-show and during intermission at this performance. Learn more about our Member Events.

Longy's Pickman Hall

27 Garden Street, Cambridge

Related Events