Simone Porter, violin

Longy's Pickman Hall

In just the past few years, rising star violinist Simone Porter has performed with a who’s-who of the world’s top conductors and debuted with such orchestras as the Philadelphia Orchestra, New York Philharmonic, and the Los Angeles Philharmonic. Her recent success comes as no surprise, given that her debut as a soloist came with the Seattle Symphony at age 10 and internationally with London’s Royal Philharmonic Orchestra at age 13. Now a consummate professional, Porter continues to ascend and fulfill her immense potential as one of her generation’s significant violinists.

After missing out on her anticipated Debut Series performance in March 2021, Porter finally takes the stage at Longy’s Pickman Hall, and it will be a thrill to hear her solo in this relatively small space. She’ll be performing a similar, but updated program to what she had originally planned for our audiences, and it’s as enticing as ever, including the Boston premiere of a new work by internationally acclaimed composer Reena Esmail.

Andrew Norman l “Sabina” for solo violin
Heinrich Biber l Passacaglia for solo violin
Reena Esmail l New work (world premiere)
Esa Pekka Salonen l Lachen verlernt ("Laughing unlearned") for solo violin
César Franck l Sonata in A Major

Seating for this performance is limited. This performance is not eligible for group discounts.

“Porter commands the technical chops, throbbing vibrato but, most importantly, the expressive panache, needed to bring the music’s rhapsodic lyricism to life…Porter’s silken-toned virtuosity puts her right up there with the finest interpreters of her generation.”

Chicago Classical Review

Longy's Pickman Hall Information

The 2021/22 Debut Series is generously sponsored by Harriet & David Griesinger and the Longy School of Music of Bard College.


This performance is made possible in part by support from Celebrity Series' LIVE PERFORMANCE! Arts for All Innovation Funds.

Related Events