Digital Concert: BeatSong
Jonathan Hess & Sonja Tengblad

This digital concert premiered on April 27, 2023 and was available until August 1, 2023.

BeatSong is a soprano and percussion duo, founded in 2015 by Sonja Tengblad and Jonathan Hess that creates and performs works that celebrate an unlikely pairing: soprano and percussion.   

Champions of new music, BeatSong is dedicated to expanding the repertoire for soprano and percussion via active commissioning projects, concerts, recordings, and master classes. BeatSong’s bold and evocative duo performances illuminate the music of Björk, Tan Dun, Luciano Berio, Casey Cangelosi, Kareem Roustom, Matthew Peterson, Adam Simon, and more. 

Soprano Sonja Tengblad enjoys an active performance career in Boston, appearing with Boston Philharmonic, Boston Landmarks Orchestra, Boston Baroque, Handel and Haydn Society, A Far Cry, Blue Hill Bach Festival, and Boston Early Music Festival, among many others.

Percussionist Jonathan Hess is a founding member of the Boston Percussion Group and serves on the music faculty at the College of the Holy Cross. He performs with Handel and Haydn Society, Boston Modern Orchestra Project, A Far Cry, Boston Baroque, and Odyssey Opera. 

This performance is part of our Neighborhood Arts Global Percussion Series.

Xenakis (1922-2001) Rebons B, for solo percussion 
Lisa Neher (b. 1985) Strawberry Man, for solo voice 
Tan Dun (b. 1957) Silk Road
Kassia (810-865) The Fallen Woman, for solo voice with drone 
Kareem Roustom (b. 1971) Xarja 
Commissioned by Jonathan Hess and Sonja DuToit Tengblad 
Joni Mitchell (b. 1943) Fiddle and the Drum, for solo voice 
Björk (b. 1965) Solstice (arranged for marimba and soprano by Jonathan Hess) 
Casey Cangelosi (b. 1982) Glamour, for solo percussion 
John Dowland (1563-1626) Flow My Tears (arranged for marimba and soprano by Jonathan Hess) 
Adam Jacob Simon (b.1987)  Pour toi mon amour (arranged for marimba and soprano by Jonathan Hess)  

Related Events